Instagram’s Activity Status tells us whether a person is online, offline, or the last active time. If you head over to the DM section on the Instagram app, you will notice that some people’s Activity status will be shown while others will be hidden.
Did you know that Instagram lets its users hide the last seen or the activity status? By disabling the activity status on your Instagram account, you can increase your privacy while using Instagram.
In this article, let’s see how to disable activity status on Instagram or turn off your last seen time. Just follow the steps given below.
How to Turn Off Activity Status on Instagram?
The option to hide your activity status on Instagram is available under privacy settings. You may follow the steps given below to turn off the same easily.
Step 1: Open the Instagram app and tap on your profile picture from the bottom bar.
Step 2: Tap on the three-line hamburger menu from the top right corner of the screen.
Step 3: Tap on the Settings option to open Instagram Settings.
Step 4: Tap on Privacy
Step 5: Now tap on the option – Activity Status.
Step 6: By default, the Activity Status of yours will be enabled. Now, turn off the toggle button to instantly turn off Activity Status or last seen status on Instagram.
This is how easy it is to turn Activity Status on Instagram. From now on, nobody will be able to see your last active time.
Be sure to read how accurate is active now on Instagram.
What Happens After Disabling Activity Status?
Once you have turned off the activity status on Instagram, here is everything that will happen afterward.
- Your activity statuses like Active now, Active X minutes/hours ago, Active today, and Active yesterday won’t appear to others.
- You can no longer see the activity status of other people on your DM section. Even if the other person hasn’t turned off the activity status, you won’t be able to see their last active time as you have hidden yours.
These are the major changes that will happen to your Instagram account after you disable the Activity Status.
Here’s a cool tip for you – See our guide on unfollowing everyone who is not following you on Instagram in a single click.
What is Activity Status on Instagram
Activity Status on Instagram are signs that will let you know if a person is online or offline. There are a couple of activity statuses available on Instagram. Active now, active yesterday, active x mins/hours ago, etc., are a few of them.
Under Privacy Settings, there is an option called Activity Status. You have the option to either enable or disable it. Disabling the option will completely turn off all sorts of activity status from your Instagram account. Once done, you won’t be able to see others either.
Instagram Activity Statuses and their Meanings
Apart from Active now, there are a couple of other activity statuses on Instagram. Refer to the table given below to get more idea about all the activity statuses is and their exact meanings.
|Active now means the person is currently online. Sometimes, Instagram shows Active now status even after the person goes offline. In this case, it might take up to 5 minutes for the Active now status to change.
|Active x mins ago
|This shows that the person was active x minutes ago. x can vary anywhere from 1 to 59. As soon as it hit 59 minutes, then from the next minute onwards it will be shown in hourly format.
|Active x hours ago
|This shows that the person was active x hours ago. x can vary anywhere from 1 to 8. As soon as it gets more than 8 hours, the status will change to Active Today
|As mentioned earlier, Active today is shown when the user is inactive or offline for more than 8 hours but less than 24 hours. If it gets more than 24 hours the status changes to Active yesterday
|Active yesterday status is shown when an Instagram user is inactive or offline for more than 24 hours
These are all the statuses available on Instagram.
Why is it necessary to disable Activity Status on Instagram?
If you are concerned about your privacy, it is better to keep your last active status disabled on Instagram. Many people might message you, and if you do not reply when you are online, they could easily find it.
But while Activity Status is disabled, they won’t know whether you are online or offline. This way, you can avoid a lot of crappy conversations.
If you are concerned about your privacy on Instagram, it will be better to disable the activity status. Once disabled, no one will see your last active time on the platform. Generally, you will see many people’s last active time when you go to the DM section. But as soon as you disable activity status, it will disappear.